CS 371p Spring 2024: Scott Lai — Week 8

Scott W. Lai
2 min readMar 10, 2024

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I successfully completed the allocator project. I had already come up with a working solution, so all I had left to do was close out the remaining issues like writing my tests, documenting my code, and dealing with the config files.

What’s in your way?

Providing that everything in Project #3 goes well, this blog is the last item on my to-do list before I officially start my spring break.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will be back in Houston with my family. I am hoping to completely ignore school. So far my plans include hanging out with my long-lost friends, having dinner with my family, learning how to grill with my uncle, going to the Rodeo with my cousins, and practicing my spinning side kicks alone in my room at 3 in the morning.

What did you think of Paper #8. The Integration Segregation Principle?

I thought this paper made a strong case for cohesive interfaces to prevent coupling between clients, and I liked how it encouraged multiple inheritance, because I know I am guilty of having a single interface serve multiple purposes.

What did you think of initializations and std::vector? (This question will vary, week to week.)

All the different initialization cases went over my head, and I will definitely have to go back and review them, though at the time I thought it was cool to see all the different ways I could initialize an object. Our discussion on vectors went as I expected it to until we got to adding elements to a vector. Although it seems obvious now, I did not think increasing the capacity of the underlying array could move the location of the vector in memory.

What made you happy this week?

This week, I was happy to have finished two big projects, which were the last of my major responsibilities. That gave me the time to celebrate my good friend’s birthday, edit a quick video for my kickboxing club, get dinner with my roommates, and hang out with my campus ministry one last time before break.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I recently read this article about reducing blame in the workplace. It advocates for creating a blameless culture in the engineering industry to promote collaboration and the overall success of the organization.

Unlisted

--

--